SCAC MEETING AMENDED AGENDA Friday, March 25th, 2022 In Person at St. Mary's College of Law

I. WELCOME (DEAN ROBERTS & C. BABCOCK)

II. STATUS REPORT FROM CHIEF JUSTICE HECHT

Chief Justice Hecht will report on Supreme Court actions and those of other courts related to the Supreme Court Advisory Committee since the February 4, 2022 meeting.

III. <u>COMMENTS FROM JUSTICE BLAND</u>

IV. <u>REMOTE PROCEEDINGS RULES – PROPOSED CHANGES TO TRCP 21D, 500.2(G);</u> <u>TRCP 18C, 21, 176 AND 500.8; TRAP 14, 39, 59; JUDICIAL ADMIN 12</u>

Task Force to present to committee for comment: Kennon Wooten Lisa Hobbs Hon. Tracy Christopher Guest Speaker: Quentin Smith, Partner V&E Guest Speaker: Justice Chu, JP Court Travis County Precinct Five

- A. December 14, 2021 Referral Letter
- B. January 27, 2022 Signed Remote Proceedings Resolution
- C. March 21, 2022 Letter to Justice Christopher from Statutory Probate Courts
- D. December 21, 2021 Texas Remote Proceedings Assessment Report

V. TEXAS RULES OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE 6.5(D)

Appellate Sub-Committee Members: Pamela Baron – Chair Hon. Bill Boyce – Vice Chair Prof. Elaine Carlson Prof. William Dorsaneo Connie Pfeiffer Richard Phillips Scott Stolley Charles Watson

- E. February 17, 2022 Referral Letter
- F. March 9, 2022 Memo from SCAC Appellate Rules Sub-Committee

VI. <u>TEXAS RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 76a</u>

15-165a Sub-Committee: Richard Orsinger – Chair Hon. Ana Estevez – Vice Chair Prof. Alexandra Albright Prof. Elaine Carlson Nina Cortell Prof. William Dorsaneo John Kim Hon. Emily Miskel Pete Schenkkan Hon. John Warren

- G. October 25, 2021 Referral Letter
- H. March 11, 2022 Email Updated from R. Orsinger
- I. March 22, 2022 Memo from Sub-Committee
 - 1. Flow Chart for Sedona Conference Model Rule on Sealing Federal Court
 - 2. <u>Commentary on Sedona Conference</u>
- J. March 24, 2021 LCJ Comment on Sealing Records

VII. TEXAS RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 162

15-165a Sub-Committee: Richard Orsinger – Chair Hon. Ana Estevez – Vice Chair Prof. Alexandra Albright Prof. Elaine Carlson Nina Cortell Prof. William Dorsaneo John Kim Hon. Emily Miskel Pete Schenkkan Hon. John Warren

K. December 7, 2021 Report of Sub-Committee on Rules 15-165a.

VIII. <u>RULES FOR IDENTIFYING POTENTIAL DISQUALIFICATION AND RECUSAL</u> <u>ISSUES (38, 52, 53 AND 55)</u>

Appellate Sub-Committee Members: Pamela Baron – Chair Hon. Bill Boyce – Vice Chair Prof. Elaine Carlson Prof. William Dorsaneo Connie Pfeiffer Richard Phillips Scott Stolley Charles Watson

L. March 24, 2022 Report from Appellate Sub-Committee