### SCAC MEETING AGENDA-AMENDED

Friday, December 10, 2021 [9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.]

# REJ Conference Room

1501 N. Congress, Austin, TX 78701

#### I. WELCOME (C. BABCOCK)

#### II. STATUS REPORT FROM CHIEF JUSTICE HECHT

Chief Justice Hecht will report on Supreme Court actions and those of other courts related to the Supreme Court Advisory Committee since the October 8, 2021 meeting.

## III. COMMENTS FROM JUSTICE BLAND

## IV. TEXAS RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 162

15-165a Sub-Committee:

Richard Orsinger - Chair

Hon. Ana Estevez - Vice Chair

Prof. Alexandra Albright

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Nina Cortell

Prof. William Dorsaneo

John Kim

Hon. Emily Miskel

Pete Schenkkan

John Warren

- **A.** October 25, 2021 Referral Letter.
- **B.** December 7, 2021 Report of Sub-Committee on Rules 15-165a.

## V. TEXAS RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 76a

15-165a Sub-Committee:

Richard Orsinger – Chair

Hon. Ana Estevez - Vice Chair

Prof. Alexandra Albright

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Nina Cortell

Prof. William Dorsaneo

John Kim

Hon. Emily Miskel

Pete Schenkkan

John Warren

- C. <u>December 8, 2021 Sub-Committee memorandum on needed changes to Rule 76a.</u>
  - 1. <u>Historical Information regarding Adoption of 76a & past proposals to change the</u> rule.
- **D.** Stephen Yelenosky's memo regarding his proposed revised Rule 76a.

E. Stephen Yelenosky's proposed revised Rule 76a.

#### VI. TEXAS RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 506.1(b)

500-510 Sub-Committee
Levi Benton - Chair
Hon. Ana Estevez – Vice Chair
Prof. Elaine Carlson
Stephen Yelenosky

F. December 6, 2021 Report of 500- 510 Sub-Committee.

# VII. TEXAS RULE OF EVIDENCE 404(b)

Evidence Sub-Committee
Gilbert "Buddy" Low – Chair
Harvey Brown – Vice Chair
Levi Benton
Prof. Elaine Carlson
Marcy Greer
Prof. Lonny Hoffman
Roger Hughes
Hon. Peter Kelly

- G. June 14, 2021 Memorandum and proposal of the SBOT Administration of Rules of Evidence Committee concerning Tex. R. Evid. 404 (b).
- **H.** November 11, 2021 Memorandum from Rules of Evidence Sub-Committee re Tex. R. Evid 404(b) & 601(b).

#### VIII. TEXAS RULE OF EVIDENCE 601(b)

Evidence Sub-Committee
Gilbert "Buddy" Low – Chair
Harvey Brown – Vice Chair
Levi Benton
Prof. Elaine Carlson
Marcy Greer
Prof. Lonny Hoffman
Roger Hughes
Hon. Peter Kelly

**I.** <u>Deadman's Rule History.</u>