SCAC MEETING AGENDA-AMENDED Friday, September 3rd, 2021 [9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.] <u>VIA ZOOM</u>

1. WELCOME (C. BABCOCK)

2. <u>STATUS REPORT FROM CHIEF JUSTICE HECHT</u>

Chief Justice Hecht will report on Supreme Court actions and those of other courts related to the Supreme Court Advisory Committee since the June 18, 2021 meeting.

3. COMMENTS FROM JUSTICE BLAND

4. SEIZURE EXEMPTION RULES AND FORM

Legislative Sub-Committee Members: Jim Perdue – Chair Peter Schenkkan – Vice Chair Prof. Elaine Carlson Hon. David Evans Robert Levy Richard Orsinger Richard Orsinger Richard Tomlinson – Lone Star Legal Aid – On behalf of Debtors Craig Noack – Co-Chair, Legal Administrative – On behalf of Creditors Affairs Committee for Texas Creditors Bar Association Ann Baddour – Texas Appleseed

- A. June 2, 2021 Referral Letter from Chief Justice Hecht with supporting bills
- **B.** August 19, 2021 Email from Richard Orsinger with assignment information
- C. August 25, 2021 Memorandum from Rich Tomlinson Proposed Garnishment & Turnover Rules with attachments A-D.
- D. Proposal by Texas Creditors Bar Assc. Relating to HB 3774 Exemptions Final
- E. Proposal by Texas Creditors Bar Assc. Relating to HB 3774 Exemptions Sept 1, 2021
- F. A Brief Response to the Texas Appleseed Proposal

5. <u>RULE OF JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION 7</u>

Judicial Sub-Committee Members: Hon. Bill Boyce – Chair Keenon Wooten – Vice Chair Nina Cortell Hon. Tom Gray Michael Hatchellf Prof. Lonny Hoffman Hon. David Newell Hon. David Peeples

Hon. Maria Salas-Mendoza

G. September 1, 2021 Report from Judicial Sub-Committee *H.* August 4, 2021 Email from Honorable Christopher with update

6. RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 199.2

Rule 167 – 206 Sub-Committee Members: Robert Meadows – Chair Hon. Tracy Christopher – Vice Chair Prof. Alexandra Albright Manuel Berrelez Harvey Brown Alistair Dawson David B. Jackson Hon. Ana Estevez Kimberly Phillips Evan Young

- I. August 27, 2021 Report form 167 206 Sub-Committee
- **6-2.** February 14, 2021 Article by Richard Orsinger regarding Discovery Subpoenas and Depositions of Entities

7. <u>RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 226A</u>

Rule 216-299a Sub-Committee Members: Prof. Elaine Carlson – Chair Thomas Riney – Vice Chair Alistair Dawson Marcy Greer Rusty Hardin John Kim Robert Meadows Hon. David Peeples Hon. Robert Schaffer Kent Sullivan Hon. Cathy Stryker Kennon Wooten

J. August 24, 2021 Report from 216 – 299a Sub-Committee

7-2. Jury Selection Report regarding Juror Comprehension in reference to Implicit Bias

8. JURY RULES

216-299a Sub-Committee Members: Prof. Elaine Carlson – Chair Thomas Riney – Vice Chair Alistair Dawson Marcy Greer Rusty Hardin John Kim Robert Meadows Hon. David Peeples Hon. Robert Schaffer Kent Sullivan Hon. Cathy Stryker John Warren Kennon Wooten

K. March 29, 2021 Referral Letter from Chief Justice Hecht

L. August 24, 2021 Report from 216 – 299a Sub-Committee

M. April 29, 2021 Jury Rules with proposed changes

N. August 12, 2021 Email from T. Riney with update

8-2. August 19, 2021 Email from R. Orsinger with update

9. <u>SUITS AFFECTING THE PARENT-CHILD RELATIONSHIP & OUT OF TIME</u> <u>APPEALS IN PARENTAL RIGHTS TERMINATION CASES</u> [Stage 1(b) & Stage 2 still pending]

Appellate Sub-Committee Members: Pamela Baron – Chair Hon. Bill Boyce – Vice Chair Prof. Elaine Carlson Prof. William Dorsaneo Connie Pfeiffer Richard Phillips Scott Stolley Charles Watson Evan Young Judge Rob Hofmann, 452nd District Court

- O. May 31, 2019 Referral Letter (without supporting docs)
- *P.* September 1, 2021 Report from the Appellate Sub-Committee
- Q. April 12, 2021 Report from Appellate Sub-Committee