SCAC MEETING AGENDA-AMENDED Friday, June 18, 2021 [9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.] VIA ZOOM

1. WELCOME (C. BABCOCK)

2. STATUS REPORT FROM CHIEF JUSTICE HECHT

Chief Justice Hecht will report on Supreme Court actions and those of other courts related to the Supreme Court Advisory Committee since the April 16, 2021 meeting.

3. COMMENTS FROM JUSTICE BLAND

4. <u>NEW SUBCOMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS FOLLOWING LEGISLATURE SESSIONS</u>

(a) 2021-06-02 Referral Letter from Chief Justice Hecht with supporting Bills

I. MDL APPLICABILITY, FAMILY VIOLENCE PROTECTIVE ORDERS AND TIME LIMITS

Judicial Administration Sub-Committee Members:

Hon. Bill Boyce - Chair

Kennon Wooten - Vice-Chair

Nina Cortell

Hon. Tom Gray

Michael Hatchell

Prof. Lonny Hoffman

Hon. David Newell

Hon. David Peeples

Hon. Maria Salas-Mendoza

(b) 2021-06-13 Report of Judicial Sub-Committee

II. URI-RELATED APPEALS

Appellate Sub-Committee Members:

Pamela Baron - Chair

Hon. Bill Boyce - Vice- Chair

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Prof. William Dorsaneo

Connie Pfeiffer

Richard Phillips

Scott Stolley

Charles Watson

Evan Young

III. PROTECTION OF SENSITIVE DATA

Legislative Mandates Sub-Committee Members:

Jim Perdue – Chair Pete Schenkkan – Vice-Chair Prof. Elaine Carlson Hon. David Evans Robert Levy Richard Orsinger

(d) 2021-06-16 Report of Judicial Sub-Committee

IV. SEXUAL ASSAULT SURVIVOR PRIVILEGE

Hon. Peter Kelly

Evidence Sub-Committee Members:

Gilbert Low – Chair Hon. Harvey Brown – Vice-Chair Hon. Levi Benton Prof. Elaine Carlson Marcy Greer Prof. Lonny Hoffman Roger Hughes

V. OATHS IN DEPOSITIONS

167-206 Sub-Committee Members:

Robert Meadows – Chair Hon. Tracy Christopher – Vice Chair Prof. Alexandra Albright Manuel Berrelez Hon. Harvey Brown Alistair Dawson David Jackson Hon. Ana Estevez Kimberly Phillips Evan Young

5. ETHICAL GUIDELINES FOR MEDIATORS (Will give update if time allows)

167-206 Sub-Committee Members:

Robert Meadows - Chair

Hon. Tracy Christopher - Vice Chair

Prof. Alexandra Albright

Manuel Berrelez

Hon. Harvey Brown

Alistair Dawson

David Jackson

Hon. Ana Estevez

Kimberly Phillips

Evan Young

(e) March 29, 2021 Referral Letter from Chief Justice Hecht