SCAC MEETING AGENDA (Amended) Friday, August 28, 2020 [9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.] VIA ZOOM

1. WELCOME (C. BABCOCK)

2. STATUS REPORT FROM CHIEF JUSTICE HECHT

Chief Justice Hecht will report on Supreme Court actions and those of other courts related to the Supreme Court Advisory Committee since the June 19, 2020 meeting.

3. <u>COMMENTS FROM JUSTICE BLAND</u>

4. <u>AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES GOVERNING ADMISSION TO THE BAR OF TEXAS</u>

Judicial Administration Sub-Committee Members:

Nina Cortell - Chair

Kennon Wooten - Vice Chair

Hon. David Peeples

Michael A. Hatchell

Prof. Lonny Hoffman

Hon. Tom Gray

Hon. Bill Boyce

Hon. David Newell

Susan Henricks - Executive Director/Board of Law Examiners

(a) August 7, 2020 S. Henricks Letter to Justice Busby re: Proposed Order Amending Rule 4 of the Rules Governing Admission to the Bar of Texas

5. <u>SUITS AFFECTING THE PARENT-CHILD RELATIONSHIP & OUT OF TIME APPEALS IN PARENTAL RIGHTS TERMINATION CASES</u>

Appellate Sub-Committee Members:

Pamela Baron - Chair

Hon. Bill Boyce - Vice Chair

Prof. William Dorsaneo

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Frank Gilstrap

Charles Watson

Charles Walson

Evan Young

Scott Stolley

Judge Dean Rucker Family Law Council

(SBOT Family Law Section)

- (b) August 24, 2020 Memo re: Parental Termination Appeals
- (b(i)) August 26, 2020 Judge Rucker letter to Justice Boyce

6. PROCEDURES TO COMPEL A RULING

Judicial Administration Sub-Committee Members:

Nina Cortell - Chair

Kennon Wooten - Vice Chair

Hon. David Peeples

Michael A. Hatchell

Prof. Lonny Hoffman

Hon. Tom Gray

Hon. Bill Boyce

Hon. David Newell

(c) August 24, 2020 Memo re: Procedures To Compel A Ruling

7. COMPENSATION FOR SUPERVISED PRACTICE

Judicial Administration Sub-Committee Members:

Nina Cortell - Chair

Kennon Wooten - Vice Chair

Hon. David Peeples

Michael A. Hatchell

Prof. Lonny Hoffman

Hon. Tom Gray

Hon. Bill Boyce

Hon. David Newell

(d) Rule IX. Compensation

8. TEXAS RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 306(a)(3)

300-330 Sub-committee

Frank Gilstrap - Chair

Lamont Jefferson - Vice

Prof. William Dorsaneo

Hon. R. H. Wallace, Jr.

Charles Watson

Sharena Gilliland

(e) August 13, 2020 Rule 306(a)(3) Memo

9. TEXAS RULE OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE 24.1(b)(2

Appellate Sub-Committee Members:

Pamela Baron - Chair

Hon. Bill Boyce - Vice Chair

Prof. William Dorsaneo

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Frank Gilstrap

Charles Watson

Evan Young

Scott Stolley

(f) August 13, 2020 Memo re: TRAP 24.1(b)(2)

10. TEXAS RULE OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE 34.5(a)

Appellate Sub-Committee Members:

Pamela Baron - Chair

Hon. Bill Boyce - Vice Chair

Prof. William Dorsaneo

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Frank Gilstrap

Charles Watson

Evan Young

Scott Stolley

(g) August 13, 2020 Memo re: TRAP 34.5(a)

11. BRIEFING RULES

Appellate Sub-Committee Members:

Pamela Baron - Chair

Hon. Bill Boyce - Vice Chair

Prof. William Dorsaneo

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Frank Gilstrap

Charles Watson

Evan Young

Scott Stolley

(h) August 20, 2020 Memo re: Briefing Rule

12. <u>VACATING OPINIO</u>NS

Appellate Sub-Committee Members:

Pamela Baron - Chair

Hon. Bill Boyce - Vice Chair

Prof. William Dorsaneo

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Frank Gilstrap

Charles Watson

Evan Young

Scott Stolley

(i) August 13, 2020 Memo re: TRAP 56.2 Vacating Opinions