SCAC MEETING AGENDA (2<sup>nd</sup> AMENDED) Friday, May 3, 2019, 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Saturday, May 4, 2019, 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon

Location: Texas Association of Broadcasters 502 E. 11<sup>th</sup> Street, #200 Austin, Texas 78701 (512) 322-9944

### 1. WELCOME (Babcock)

## 2. <u>STATUS REPORT FROM CHIEF JUSTICE HECHT</u>

Chief Justice Hecht will report on Supreme Court actions and those of other courts related to the Supreme Court Advisory Committee since the February 15 meeting.

### 3. <u>COMMENTS FROM JUSTICE BOYD</u>

### 4. <u>TEXAS RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 244</u>

216-299a Sub-Committee Members: Prof. Elaine Carlson – Chair Thomas C. Riney – Vice Chair The Hon. David Peeples Alistair B. Dawson Robert Meadows The Hon. Kent Sullivan Kennon Wooten

(a) February 11, 2019 Report re: TRCP 244

# 5. <u>DISCOVERY RULES</u>

171-205 Sub-Committee Members: Mr. Robert Meadows - Chair The Hon. Tracy Christopher – Vice Chair Prof. Alexandra Albright The Hon. Jane Bland The Hon. Harvey Brown David Jackson The Hon. Ana Estevez Kent Sullivan Kimberly Phillips

- (b) 2019-2-11 R. Meadows Letter to C. Babcock
- (c) Discovery Subcommittee Proposed Amendments (2-6-2019)
- (d) Rule 215 Sanctions Albright Working Document
- (e) Revised Spoliation Rule (2-6-2019)
- (f) Spoliation Draft Rule (Texas)

## 6. <u>EX-PARTE COMMUNICATIONS IN PROBLEM-SOLVING CASE [Scheduled</u> <u>for 1:00 P.M.]</u>

Judicial Administration Sub-Committee Members: Nina Cortell - Chair Kennon Wooten – Vice Chair The Hon. David Peeples Michael A. Hatchell Prof. Lonny Hoffman The Hon. Tom Gray The Hon. Bill Boyce The Hon. Bill Boyce The Hon. David Newell Andrew P. Van Osselaer (Associate/Haynes and Boone, LLP)

(g) May 3, 2019 Memo to TSCAC on Ex Parte Communications

### 7. <u>TEXAS RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 167</u>

166-166a Sub-Committee Members: Richard Munzinger – Chair Pete Schenkkan – Vice Chair The Hon. David Peeples The Hon. Jeffrey Boyd Prof. Elaine Carlson Nina Cortell Rusty Hardin

#### 8. <u>NAME CHANGE FORMS</u>

Rule 215 Sub-Committee Members:

Pete Schenkkan - Chair The Hon. David L. Evans – Vice Chair Jim M. Perdue, Jr. Pamela Baron The Hon. Levi Benton The Hon. Tracy Christopher Robert Meadows Lisa Hobbs Trish McAllister (Texas Access To Justice)

- (h) 2019-3-25 Name Change Forms Memo
- (i) Relevant Statutes and Rules
- (j) 2019-5 Adult Name Change Instructions CLEAN
- (k) 2019-5 Adult Name Change Petition-CLEAN
- (1) 2019-5 Child Name Change Instructions CLEAN
- (m) 2019-5 Child Name Change Petition-CLEAN
- (n) Adult Name Change Order-August 2018-FINAL
- (o) Child Name Change Order-August 2018-FINAL