SCAC MEETING AGENDA

Friday, February 15, 2019 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Location: Texas Association of Broadcasters

502 E. 11th Street, #200 Austin, Texas 78701 (512) 322-9944

1. WELCOME (Babcock)

2. STATUS REPORT FROM CHIEF JUSTICE HECHT

Chief Justice Hecht will report on Supreme Court actions and those of other courts related to the Supreme Court Advisory Committee since the September 28 and 29, 2018 meetings.

3. <u>COMMENTS FROM JUSTICE BOYD</u>

4. <u>FORMS FOR AN APPLICATION FOR INJUNCTIVE RELIEF IN</u> <u>CYBERBULLYING CASES</u>

735-822 Sub-Committee Members:

The Hon. Stephen Yelenosky - Chair

Lamont Jefferson - Vice Chair

Frank Gilstrap

Pete Schenkkan

- (a) June 11, 2018 Memo re: Cyberbullying
- (b) Cyberbullying Restraining Order (2-8-2019)
- (c) Cyberbullying Petition (2-8-2019)
- (d) Cyberbullying Instructions (2-8-2019)
- (e) Cyberbullying Statute
- (f) S.B. No. 179
- (g) Cyberbullying Constitutional Precedents on Student Speech

5. DISCOVERY RULES

171-205 Sub-Committee Members:

Mr. Robert Meadows - Chair

The Hon. Tracy Christopher - Vice Chair

Prof. Alexandra Albright

The Hon. Jane Bland

The Hon. Harvey Brown

David Jackson

The Hon. Ana Estevez

Kent Sullivan

Kimberly Phillips

- (h) 2019-2-11 R. Meadows Letter to C. Babcock
- (i) Discovery Subcommittee Proposed Amendments (2-6-2019)
- (j) Rule 215 Sanctions Albright Working Document
- (k) Revised Spoliation Rule (2-6-2019)
- (l) Spoliation Draft Rule (Texas)

6. TEXAS RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 244

216-299a Sub-Committee Members:

Prof. Elaine Carlson – Chair Thomas C. Riney – Vice Chair The Hon. David Peeples

Alistair B. Dawson

Robert Meadows

The Hon. Kent Sullivan

Kennon Wooten

(m) February 11, 2019 Report re: TRCP 244

7. TEXAS RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 167

166-166a Sub-Committee Members:

Richard Munzinger – Chair Pete Schenkkan – Vice Chair The Hon. David Peeples The Hon. Jeffrey Boyd Prof. Elaine Carlson

Nina Cortell Rusty Hardin

8. EX-PARTE COMMUNICATIONS IN PROBLEM-SOLVING CASE

Judicial Administration Sub-Committee Members:

Nina Cortell - Chair

Kennon Wooten - Vice Chair

The Hon. David Peeples

Michael A. Hatchell

Prof. Lonny Hoffman

The The Hon. Tom Gray

The Hon. Bill Boyce

The Hon. David Newell

(n) Memo to TSCAC on Ex Parte Communications