### SCAC MEETING AGENDA-2nd AMENDED Friday, August 11, 2017

9:00 a.m.

**Location:** State Bar of Texas

1414 Colorado Street, Room 101

Hatton Sumners Room Austin, Texas 78701 (512) 427-1463

#### 1. WELCOME (Babcock)

### 2. STATUS REPORT FROM CHIEF JUSTICE HECHT

Chief Justice Hecht will report on Supreme Court actions and those of other courts related to the Supreme Court Advisory Committee since the June 9 meeting.

## 3. GUIDELINES FOR SOCIAL MEDIA USE BY JUDGES

216-299a Sub-Committee Members:

Prof. Elaine Carlson – Chair

Hon. David Peeples - Vice Chair

Hon. Kent Sullivan

Alistair B. Dawson

O. C. Hamilton

**Robert Meadows** 

Thomas C. Riney

- (a) Judges' Use of Social Media (Proposal for Discussion)—August 8, 2017
- (b) Code of Judicial Conduct-Pre-2002 and Current Canon 5; Canon 3-B(10)
- (b1) Rules of Engagement
- (b2) ABA Formal Opinion

# 4. PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE CODE OF JUDICIAL CONDUCT AND POLICIES ON ASSISTANCE TO COURT PATRONS BY COURT AND LIBRARY STAFF

Judicial Administration Sub-Committee Members:

Nina Cortell - Chair

Hon. David Peeples - Vice Chair

Hon. Tom Gray

Prof. Lonny Hoffman

Hon. David Newell

Hon. Bill Boyce

Michael A. Hatchell

Kennon Wooten

- (b3) August 2, 2017 Email from Nina Cortell re Proposals Regarding Self-Represented Litigants
- (c) TAJC Report for SCAC on TAJC Amendment and Policies-July 6, 2017
- (d) TAJC Proposed Amendment To The Code of Judicial Conduct w/Combined Exhibits-May 2, 2016

(e) Canon 3: Texas Code of Judicial Conduct

18776239v.1 099908/00003 Page **1** of **2** 

## 5. TEXAS RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 145

15-165a Sub-Committee Members:

Richard Orsinger - Chair

Frank Gilstrap - Vice Chair

Professor Alexandra Albright

Professor Elaine Carlson

Nina Cortell

Professor William Dorsaneo

O. C. Hamilton

Pete Schenkkan

Hon. Anahid Estevez

Trish McAllister w/Texas Access To Justice

(f) April 23, 2017 Memo from Rule 15-165a Subcommittee regarding Report on Suggested Changes to TRCP 145

### 6. SUPERSEDEAS RULES FOR STATE-ACTOR APPELLANTS

Appellate Rules Sub-Committee Members:

Prof. William Dorsaneo - Chair

Pamela Baron - Vice Chair

Hon. Bill Boyce

Hon. Brett Busby

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Frank Gilstrap

Charles Watson

Evan Young

Scott Stolley

(g) July 20, 2017 Memo from Appellate Rules Subcommittee regarding Amendment to TRAP 24

## 7. TEXAS RULE OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE 11

Appellate Rules Sub-Committee Members:

Prof. William Dorsaneo - Chair

Pamela Baron - Vice Chair

Hon. Bill Boyce

Hon. Brett Busby

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Frank Gilstrap

Charles Watson

Evan Young

Scott Stolley

(h) July 20, 2017 Memo from Appellate Rules Subcommittee regarding Amendment to TRAP 11