SCAC MEETING AGENDA – DAY 1 Friday, April 28, 2017 10:00 a.m.

Location: Texas Associations of Broadcasters 502 E. 11th Street, #200 Austin, Texas 78701 (512) 322-9944

1. WELCOME (Babcock)

2. STATUS REPORT FROM CHIEF JUSTICE HECHT

Chief Justice Hecht will report on Supreme Court actions and those of other courts related to the Supreme Court Advisory Committee since the February 3 meeting.

3. DISCOVERY RULES

171-205 Sub-Committee Members: Robert Meadows - Chair Hon. Tracy Christopher – Vice Prof. Alexandra Albright Hon. Jane Bland Hon. Harvey Brown David Jackson Cristina Rodriguez Hon. Ana Estevez Hon. Kent Sullivan

- (a) April 24, 2017 Discovery Subcommittee letter of B. Meadows
- (b) Discovery Subcommittee Proposed Amendments, Jan. 2017
- (c) State Bar of Texas Committee on Court Rules Proposed Spoliation Rules

4. PROPOSED APPELLATE SEALING RULE AND RULE 76a

Appellate Sub-Committee Members: Prof. Bill Dorsaneo – Chair Pamela Baron – Vice Hon. Bill Boyce Hon. Brett Busby Prof. Elaine Carlson Frank Gilstrap Charles Watson Evan Young Scott Stolley

(d) April 25, 2017 TRAP 9 and 10 Revisions

5. AMENDMENTS TO THE JUSTICE COURT RULES

Rules 523-734 Committee Members: O. C. Hamilton – Chair L. Hayes Fuller – Vice Chair Eduardo Rodriguez

6. AMENDMENTS TO THE CODE OF JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Legislative Mandates Committee Members: Jim Perdue, Jr. – Chair Hon. Jane Bland – Vice Chair Hon. Robert Pemberton Prof. Elaine Carlson Pete Schenkkan Hon. David L. Evans Robert Levy Hon . Brett Busby Wade Shelton Richard Orsinger Kennon Wooten

7. <u>WHETHER THE DEADLINES PRESCRIBED BY RULE 53.7 OF THE RULES OF</u> <u>APPELLATE PROCEDURE ARE JURISDICTIONAL; PROCEDURE FOR FILING</u> <u>LATE PETITION DUE TO INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL</u>

Appellate Committee Members: Prof. Bill Dorseano – Chair Pamela Baron – Vice Chair Hon. Bill Boyce Hon. Brett Busry Prof. Elaine Carlson Frank Gilstrap Charles Watson Evan Young Scott Stolley

SCAC MEETING AGENDA – DAY 2 Saturday, April 29, 2017 9:00 a.m.

Location: Texas Associations of Broadcasters 502 E. 11th Street, #200 Austin, Texas 78701 (512) 322-9944

1. TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 21a, 21c, 57 and 244

Rules 15-165a Committee Members: Richard Orsinger – Chair Frank Gilstrap – Vice Prof. Alexandra Albright Prof. Elaine Carlson Nina Cortell Prof. Bill Dorsaneo O. C. Hamilton Pete Schenkkan Hon. Anahid Estevez

(e) Report on Suggested Changes to TRCP 21a, 21c & 57

2. AMENDMENTS TO THE STATE BAR RULE

Judicial Administration Committee Members: Nina Cortell – Chair Hon. David Peeples – Vice Chair Prof. Lonny Hoffman Hon. Tom Gray Hon. Bill Boyce Hon. David Newell Kennon Wooten

(f) Memorandum To Full Committee